Category Winners 2015

A record breaking 239 entries were received for the awards, up from 153 in 2014. In the course of their assessment of the award applications, the retail and foodservice judging panel tasted 161 product entries during a two day tasting session, examining submissions from 116 businesses across Scotland. The full shortlist for 2015 is as follows:

Soup, Preserves & Accompaniments (Sponsored by Asda)    

  • Audrey Baxter Signature Range - Rhubarb & Ginger Curd, Raspberry Curd, Passion Fruit & Mango Curd
  • Galloway Chillies - Chilli Burns
  • Isle of Skye Sea Salt Co - 150g Fine Grain (winner)

Bakery & Cereal Based (Sponsored by Asda)    

  • Golspie Mill - Rustic Bites- wholemeal Highland Bites, Rustic Bites- Cranachan (winner)
  • Pulsetta Foods Ltd - Pulsetta Savoury Thins
  • Wooleys of Arran - Wooleys of Arran Range   

Dairy (sponsored by Asda)    

  • Arran Dairies - Arran Gold Dairy Ice Cream
  • Errington Cheese Ltd - Lanark Blue Dunsyre Blue Corra Linn
  • Katy Rodger’s Artisan Dairy - Knockraich Crowdie & Crème Fraiche (winner)

Confectionery & Snacking (sponsored by Asda)

  • Charlotte Flower Chocolates - Hebridean Sea Salt caramel filled chocolates
  • Charlotte Flower Chocolates - Wild flavoured single origin chocolate thins (winner)
  • Mademoiselle Macaron - Macaron Box of 12

Non-Alcoholic Drink (sponsored by Asda)

  • AG Barr PLC - BARR’s Originals (winner)
  • Pekoe Tea - Secret Herb Garden Duchess Grey, Secret Herb Garden Scot's Earl Grey,  Secret Herb Garden Earl Grey
  • Summerhouse Drinks Ltd - Lavender Lemonade, Scottish Raspberry Lemonade

Alcoholic Drink (sponsored by Shepherd and Wedderburn)

  • Dunnet Bay Distillers - Rock Rose Gin
  • Ian Macleod Distillers - Glengoyne 25 Year Old Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky (winner)
  • Ogilvy Spirits - Ogilvy Scottish Potato Vodka

Fish & Seafood (sponsored by The Crown Estate)

  • Gigha Halibut - Smoked Gigha Halibut
  • J Lawrie & Sons (Jaffys) - Jaffys Traditional Mallaig Kippers
  • The Argyll Smokery - Smoked Fish Pates (Kiln Roasted, Smoked Salmon, Smoked Trout) (winner)

Meat (sponsored by The Grocer)    

  • Hopetoun Farm Shop - Hopetoun Venison (Steak, Rack and Rolled Loin)
  • Peelham Farm produce - Peelham Charcuterie (winner)
  • Simon Howie Foods - The Wee Black Pudding

Foodservice Product of the Year (sponsored by Sodexo)    

  • CANAPE – Canape's Scottish Curried Goat
  • Katy Roger’s Artisan Dairy - Knockraich Crowdie & Crème Fraiche (winner)
  • Stuart and Swan Chocolatiers - The Jewel Collection

Commitment to Health (sponsored by Rowett Institute)    

  • Broomhouse Health Strategy Group
  • Entier Limited (winner)
  • LoSalt

Brand Success of the Year (sponsored by Palletforce)

  • Ian Macleod Distillers (winner)
  • Plant-n-Grow Ltd

Export Business of the Year (sponsored by Perth Food and Drink Park)    

  • BrewDog
  • Mackays Ltd
  • The Scottish Salmon Company (winner)

Innovation (sponsored Queen Margaret University)    

  • Bruichladdich Distillery and The Agronomy Institute of UHI (winner)
  • Peel Tech Ltd
  • Scarletts (Scotland)

Investing in People (sponsored by Skills Development Scotland)    

  • Baxters Food Group
  • Dawnfresh Seafoods Ltd (winner)
  • Loch Fyne Oysters

Success Through Partnership (sponsored by SAOS)

  • Highland Game Ltd (winner)
  • Scottish Cold Pressed Rapeseed Group
  • The Food and Drink Hub (Scotland) Ltd

Environmental Sustainability (sponsored by Resource Efficient Scotland)

  • Dawnfresh Seafoods Ltd (winner)
  • Ivan Wood & Sons
  • Scotbeef Ltd

Scottish Sourcing (sponsored by Taste Our Best, VisitScotland)

  • Born in the Borders (winner)
  • Caledonian MacBrayne (CalMac Ferries Ltd)
  • Lazy Sunday

Scottish Food & Drink Entrepreneur (sponsored by Johnston Carmichael)    

  • Christian Nissen - Highland Game Ltd
  • James Watt - BrewDog (winner)
  • John P Campbell OBE - Glenrath Farms Ltd & J P Campbell and Sons
  • Tracey Hogarth & Ross Currie - Freedom Brands Ltd

Young Talent (sponsored by Scottish Food and Drink Federation – A Future in Food)

  • Danielle Ritchie - Entier Ltd
  • Darren Halliday - Burn Stewart Distillers    
  • Jamie Hutcheon - Cocoa Ooze (winner)

Food Hero (sponsored by The Herald)

The shortlist includes organic farmer Bruce Bennett of Pillars of Hercules near Falkland, Fife; Iain R Spink of Original Smokies from Arbroath Ltd (winner); and forager Mark Williams of Galloway Wild Foods, Gatehouse of Fleet.

Product of the Year (sponsored by RHASS)

Charlotte Flower Chocolates (winner)
, meadowsweet chocolate thins

Business of the Year (sponsored by Clydesdale Bank)

The Scottish Salmon Company (winner)

Outstanding Contribution to Food & Drink (sponsored by the Scottish Government)

Jo & James Macsween
of Macsweens of Edinburgh


All form fields are required.

All form fields are required.