Category Winners 2016

Twenty businesses have been selected from 245 entries and announced as recipients of the Scotland Food & Drink Excellence Awards 2016, Scotland’s most prestigious food and drink awards.

The full shortlist and winners comprised:

Soup, Preserves & Accompaniments sponsored by Asda

  • The Little Herb Farm – Raspberry, Mint & Chilli Vinegar
  • Mara Seaweed – Shony Flakes (winner)
  • Mackays Ltd – Dundee Orange Marmalade

Dairy sponsored by Asda             

  • Graham’s The Family Dairy – Graham’s The Family Dairy Spreadable Butter (winner)
  • Mackie’s of Scotland – Mackie’s White Chocolate and Coconut Indulgent Dairy Ice Cream
  • Yester Farm Dairies Ltd – Natural Cottage Cheese

Meat sponsored by Asda             

  • Simon Howie Foods Ltd – Salt-Aged Aberdeen Angus Rib Eye Steak
  • The Buffalo Farm – Fillet Steak (winner)
  • Great Glen Charcuterie – Venison Salami

Confectionery & Snacking sponsored by Asda

  • Mackie’s of Scotland – Mackie’s 70% Dark Chocolate with MINT
  • Iain Burnett Highland Chocolatier – Velvet Truffles
  • Macamoon – Macamoon’s Scottish Selection (winner)

Non-Alcoholic Drink sponsored by Asda

  • Cuddybridge Apple Juice – Cuddybridge Apple Juice (winner)
  • Summerhouse Drinks – Walter Gregor’s Tonic Water

Alcoholic Drink sponsored by Shepherd and Wedderburn

  • Gordon Castle Scotland – Gordon Castle Raspberry Gin
  • RTM Sales Solutions Ltd – Magnum scotch malt whisky cream liqueur (winner)
  • Dunnet Bay Distillers Ltd. – Holy Grass Vodka

Fish & Seafood sponsored by The Crown Estate

  • John Ross Jr (Aberdeen) Ltd – Balmoral Fillet (winner)
  • Loch Fyne Oysters – Bradan Orach
  • Scottish Shellfish Marketing Group – Morrisons Signature Coquille St. Jacques

Bakery & Cereal-Based sponsored by Scottish Bakers

  • Stoats – Hedgerow Muesli (winner)
  • Border Biscuits – Border Biscuits Classic Sharing Selection
  • Duncan’s of Deeside – Rasperry and white chocolate All Butter Shortbread

Foodservice Product of the Year sponsored by Sodexo

  • Cullisse Highland Rapeseed Oil – Cullisse Highland Rapeseed Oil
  • Summerhouse Drinks – Sparkling Raspberry Drink
  • Millers Larder Ltd – Perfyit Piccalilli (winner)

Commitment to Health sponsored by Rowett Institute

  • Duncan’s of Deeside Gluten Free
  • Eat Balanced (winner)

Brand Success of the Year sponsored by Palletforce

  • Border Biscuits
  • Graham’s The Family Dairy (winner)
  • Mackie’s of Scotland

Export Business of the Year sponsored by Bank of Scotland

  • Loch Duart Ltd
  • Associated Seafoods Ltd (winner)
  • Mackie’s at Taypack Ltd

Innovation sponsored by The Grocer      

  • Peel Tech Ltd
  • Stirling Potatoes Ltd (Stirfresh)
  • Scottish Sea Farms Ltd (winner)

Investing in People sponsored by Skills Development Scotland

  • The Scottish Salmon Company
  • Entier Limited
  • Loch Fyne Oysters (winner)

Success Through Partnership sponsored by SAOS          

  • Aldi and The Natural Fruit & Beverage Company (winner)
  • Taste of Arran
  • Connage Highland Dairy and Hebridean Smokehouse

Environmental Sustainability sponsored by Zero Waste Scotland

  • Ivan Wood & Sons (winner)
  • Kettle Produce Ltd
  • Paterson Arran Ltd

Scottish Sourcing sponsored by Taste Our Best, VisitScotland

  • Calmac Ferries Ltd
  • Edinburgh Larder
  • Ninth Wave Restaurant (winner)

Scottish Food & Drink Entrepreneur sponsored by Johnston Carmichael

  • Craig Anderson, The Scottish Salmon Company
  • William J Walker, BenRiach Distillery Co Ltd (winner)
  • Andrew Stirling, Stirling Potatoes Ltd (Stirfresh)

Young Talent sponsored by SFDF- A Future in Food

  • Siobhan Macleaod, WooHa Brewing Company – Area: Brewing
  • Daniel Sherry, Eden Mill – Area: Alcoholic Beverages (winner)

Food Pioneer sponsored by The Scotsman           

  • Fred Berkmiller, chef (winner)
  • Beth Berry, market operator
  • Arbikie, gin and vodka producer

Product of the Year (sponsored by RHASS) and Business of the Year (sponsored by Clydesdale Bank) are not entered categories. The winners are picked by the judging panel as champion of champions from category winners.

Product of the Year

  • Macamoon – Macamoon’s Scottish Selection

Business of the Year

  • Scottish Sea Farms Ltd

Outstanding Contribution to Food & Drink

  • Jim Walker, Walkers Shortbread


All form fields are required.

All form fields are required.