Category Winners 2017

Finalists have been chosen from amongst 272 total entries for the Scotland Food & Drink Excellence Awards.

Finalists are:

Savouries & Accompaniments sponsored by Connect Local

Born in the Borders -  Ale Vinegar
The Little Herb Farm - Tayberry & Sage Vinegar Dressing (winner)
The Very Lovely Sauce Company - Gingerbread Caramel Sauce
Wild Fig -  Dark and Stormy Marmalade with Rum and Ginger

Dairy sponsored by Michael Page

Graham’s the Family Dairy - Graham’s the Family Dairy Gold Smooth (winner)
Graham’s the Family Dairy - Graham’s the Family Dairy Organic Whole Milk with Cream at the Top
Taste of Arran -  Arran Blue
Yester Farm Dairies Ltd - Crème Fraiche

Bakery sponsored by Scottish Bakers

Border Biscuits - Dark Chocolate Gingers & Orange (winner)
Dean’s -  Dean’s Gluten Free Choc Chip & Stem Ginger Shortbread
Dean’s -  Dean’s All Butter Gluten Free Shortbread
Mathiesons Bakery Ltd - Tesco Finest Cherry & Almond Stollen

Scotch Brand Product of the Year sponsored by Quality Meat Scotland

Aldi - Specially Selected Scotch Aberdeen Angus Gourmet Burgers 340g
Aldi - Specially Selected Scotch 30 day Matured Aberdeen Angus Sirloin Steak (winner)
Highland Meats -  Caledonia Crown PGI Scotch Beef Matured Flat Iron Steak
John Lawson Butchers - Himalayan Salt Dry Aged Scotch Sirloin Steak

Meat sponsored by Kimberley Watson Packaging

Macsween of Edinburgh - Macsween Gluten Free Haggis
Peelham Farm Produce -  Organic Air-dried Smoked Juniper Mutton (winner)
Peelham Farm Produce - Organic Beef Bresaola
Ramsay of Carluke Ltd - Traditionally Cured Bacon

Fish & Seafood sponsored by DR Newitt

Gigha Halibut - Gigha Halibut
Loch Fyne Oysters - Kinglas Fillet (winner)
Loch Fyne Oysters -  Loch Fyne Live Scottish Mussels 1kg
Luss Fine Food Ltd (Luss Smokehouse) - Beech Smoked Trout

Confectionery, Drinks & Snacking sponsored by New Town Partnership

Bon Accord Soft Drinks - Rhubarb
Chocolate Tree - Whisky Nibs (winner)
Left Field Kombucha Ltd -  Yunnan Black Kombucha Tea
Mackies at Taypack Ltd - Mature Cheddar & Onion Crisps

Brewing sponsored by Heriot Watt University

Edinburgh Beer Factory - Paolozzi
Stewart Brewing Ltd - First World Problems
Stewart Brewing Ltd -  Radical Road (winner)
Tempest Brewing Co - Long White Cloud

Distilling sponsored by Invest in Perth

Bladnoch Distillery Ltd -  Bladnoch Single Malt Scotch Whisky “SAMSARA”
Loch Ness Spirits Limited -  Loch Ness Gin (winner)
Lussa Drinks Company LLP - Lussa Gin
The Walled Garden Trading Company - Gordon Castle Plum Gin Liqueur

Foodservice Product of the Year sponsored by Sodexo

Loch Duart Ltd - Loch Duart Salmon (winner)
Taste of Arran - Arran Dairies Traditional Ice Cream
The Scottish Salmon Company - Native Hebridean Salmon
Salar Smokehouse - Salar Flaky Smoked Salmon

Healthy Choice sponsored by Rowett Institute

Gusto Artisan - OMG3
Mara Seaweed  - Furikake (winner)
Scotbeef Limited - 24 Skinny Mini Beef Meatballs
Stockan’s Oatcakes Limited - Orkney Beremeal Oatcakes

Own Label Product of the Year sponsored by The Grocer

Aldi -  Specially Selected Orkney Caramel Shortbread (winner)
Aldi - Specially Selected Blossom Honey
Associated Seafoods - M&S Twice Smoked Scottish Salmon

Primary Producer of the Year sponsored by SRUC

Bruce Farms (winner)
Stewarts of Tayside Limited
Yester Farm Dairies Ltd

Scottish Sourcing sponsored by CalMac

Duart Castle Tearoom
l’escargot (winner)

Brand Success of the Year sponsored by Palletforce

Border Biscuits
Peter Equi & Sons Ltd
Pickering’s Gin (winner)

Export Business of the Year sponsored by Maclay Murray & Spens

Hunter Laing & Company Limited
Mackies at Taypack (winner)
Mara Seaweed

Success through Partnership sponsored by SAOS

Fusion Whisky Ltd (winner)
Scotty Brand Ltd
The Bay Fish & Chips

Environmental Sustainability sponsored by Zero Waste Scotland

Farne Salmon and Trout Ltd
Paterson Arran Ltd (winner)
The Jaw Brewery Ltd

Employer of the Year - Investing in Skills sponsored by Skills Development Scotland

Entier (winner)
Joseph Robertson (Aberdeen) Ltd
Strathmore Foods Ltd

Young Talent sponsored by FDF Scotland

Liam Pennycook, Strathearn Distillery (winner)
Shannon McFarlane, Tempest Brewing Co
Shona Gillespie, Eden Mill

Entrepreneur of the Year sponsored by Johnston Carmichael

Boyd Tunnock, Thomas Tunnock Ltd
Euan Beaton, MacDuff Shellfish Scotland Ltd (winner)
James Newitt, Meatsnacks Group Ltd

Food Pioneer sponsored by The Scotsman

Tony Reeman-Clark, Strathearn Distillery
Colin Hinds, Kilted Lobster and Rib Aye 
Graham Suttle, Kained Holdings (winner)
Rachel Hammond, Hammond Charcuterie

Product of the Year sponsored by RHASS

Chocolate Tree, Whisky Nibs

Business of the Year sponsored by Clydesdale Bank

Bruce Farms

Outstanding Contribution sponsored by The Scottish Government

Alastair Dobson, Taste of Arran


All form fields are required.

All form fields are required.